As summer approaches and temperatures become warm, it signals the start of the motorcycle riding season in PA. Motorcycle riders, the novice and experienced alike, are urged to take part in the motorcycle safety course PA. The course is available to all Pennsylvania residents.
- Why You Should Enroll For the Motorcycle Safety Course PA
- How Do You Get your Riding Permit?
Why You Should Enroll For the Motorcycle Safety Course PA
It is important that riders reinforce and sharpen their skills. Also, it enables the novice and experienced riders to have a safe and enjoyable riding season.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements
All riders should have motorcycle permit or a valid PA driver’s license. For the Advanced Rider Course, you will need a valid driver’s license with class M endorsement.
Age Limit for the Motorcycle Safety Course
Act 84 of 2012 dictates that all riders must be 18 and over to take part in the course. However, there are different licensing guidelines for 16 and 17-year-olds. Any leaner under 18 years must be properly licensed for them to qualify for any safety course.
Are There Free Courses?
Yes. The state offers free basic motorcycle safety course to novices with the assistance from seasoned riders at numerous locations all over Pennsylvania. The training courses are conducted and supervised by certified instructors.
The Basic Rider Course
Are you an inexperienced rider who wants a license for the first time? The Pennsylvanian Motorcycle Safety Program or PAMSP has a 15-hour licensing program (offered in five days) under the basic rider course.
The program has five hours of class introduction and 10 hours of practical sessions. The learner gets valuable training from the seasoned riders as they polish their skills and correct any unsafe riding behaviors they might have gained.
The program gives the learner a helmet and motorcycle. However, they have to cater to the rest of the protective gear.
The Advanced Rider Course
Most of the experienced riders have a permit and a motorcycle. The course may run for a day or a six-hour basic rider course.
It helps the experienced riders refresh their safety knowledge as they hone their riding skills. Unlike the inexperienced learners, the seasoned riders provide their protective gear and motorcycles.
How Do You Get your Riding Permit?
You need to pay $10 for the permit. You will also be subjected to a motorcycle knowledge and vision screening test. The learner’s permit is valid for one year from the date of application.
- The Motorcycles Available To Ride
There are different styles and brands of motorcycles learners can use. It all depends on what the instructor is offering and they help their students choose.
- Identifying the Right Safety Class for You
The basic rider course (BRC) gives the learner an insight into the fundamentals of motorcycle riding. It is ideal for beginners and intermediate learners. The instructor offers the helmet and motorcycle.
Students who have finished the first basic course can enroll for the BRC2. It helps the intermediate riders hone their on-road skills and learn the safety tips while carrying passengers.
The advanced rider course is for the intermediate and seasoned riders who are seeking to hone their overall skill development and riding strategies. The riders can learn how to brake, corner, and swerve effectively.
The 3WBRC is a class ideal for beginners and intermediates who want to learn to ride three-wheeled vehicles.
Can I Take The Classes More Than Once?
Absolutely! Learners are encouraged to take the classes as often as they wish if they wish to improve their skills. It takes skill building and ongoing practice for safe street riding.
Passing And Failing Of BRC Skills: What Happens Next
For those who pass the BRC program, they automatically become licensed riders and receive their motorcycle license from the Transport Department within 120 days and a completion card.
If you fail the BRC skills course, the instructor will recommend an addition practice class or give you a re-test based on your needs and skill level.
Benefits of passing the RBC skills
For starters, you become a licensed driver. Also, some insurance companies offer reduced rates to motorcycle owners. However, you need to show your completion card.
Expired and Lost Learner Permits
PA’s transportation department requires that all riders have a valid permit throughout the training. There are guidelines for renewing and replacing any lost permits. Visit their site for more information!